top of page
  • HD Nursing

2020 HD Nursing Awards for Excellence in Patient Safety

Updated: Jul 17, 2021

The award for Organizational Excellence is chosen based on demonstration of the following: Organization demonstrates a strong culture of safety. Key leadership populated with servant leaders. Organization embraces the science of the HD Nursing Program. Fall or injury rates demonstrate a 25% improvement from baseline evidencing a commitment to the Predict/Prevent/Sustain phases of the HD Nursing Falls Program. Organization develops new leaders and supports individual nursing growth through HD Nursing’s Programs.

2021 Organizational Award Winners:

Aspirus – Ironwood

Aspirus – Keweenaw

Aspirus – Ontonagon

Aspirus -Langlade

Aspirus -Wausau

Community CHE

Community CHVH

Conway Regional Medical Center

Edgerton Hospital and Health Services

Franciscan – Munster

Franciscan Lafayette East

Franciscan -Michigan City

Franciscan Mooresville

Henry Ford – Main Campus

Henry Ford – Wyandotte

Henry Ford-West Clemens

Henry Ford -Allegiance

Houston Methodist – HMH

Houston Methodist – HMWB

Houston Methodist -HMTW

Kaiser Permanente Anaheim

Kaiser Permanente Irvine

Kaiser Permanente Moreno Valley

Kaiser Permanente Ontario

Kaiser Permanente San Diego Medical Center

Kaiser Permanente South Bay

Kaiser Permanente Downey

Rochester-Clifton (CSH “Clifton Springs Hospital



SIH-St. Joseph

SSM Monroe Clinic

SSM St. Mary’s Audrain

SSM St. Mary’s St. Louis

SSM St. Jo St. Charles

SSM St. Mary’s Janesville

St. Louis University Hospital (SSM)


University of Mississippi

Outstanding Leadership

The award for Outstanding Leadership is given to a person who (1) demonstrates strong leadership in the face of change and adversity (2) propels evidence based patient care and clinical quality regardless of current barriers (3) demonstrates an ability to facilitate collaboration between stakeholders; particularly IT and clinical operations (4) maintains strong communication between HD Nursing and core stakeholders.

2021 Outstanding Leadership Award Winners:

Kaiser Permanente -West LA- Maria Masangkay

Southeast Health-Dewayne Whitener

Houston Methodist-Deb Garbade

SSM-Jeannie Mollohan and Stacey Weiler

Navicent Health- Meryl Montgomery

UTSW- “The UT Crew”-Shelley Brown, Amie Swindle, Julie Buchl,

Melinda Malone, Samantha Bhatt

Aspirus-Jessica Faude

Kaiser Permanente -San Diego- Kerry Forde

Parkland- “The Triple Threat”- Sarah Gardner, Noami Cavett, Shanna Choate

SIH-Jennifer Harre

Clinical Effectiveness

The award for Clinical Effectiveness is based on (1) leading change at the bedside, but not necessarily from the bedside (2) influencing clinician/peer behavior (3) identifying and addressing compliance gaps (4) holding clinicians accountable to evidence-based practice using motivational tools and techniques (5) demonstrating ingenuity and innovation as new challenges or barriers arise that affect sustainability of quality measures.

2021 Clinical Effectiveness Award Winners:

Parkland- Angel Newman

Parkland- Tsedey Melaku

Kaiser Permanente -Riverside- Talitha Marquez

Navicent Health- Deon Hutchison

St. Louis University Hospital (SSM)- Stephanie Johnson

SSM DePaul-Aimee Monrotus

Community Health East-Danielle Dillon

Henry Ford-Allegiance- Kathy Walsh

Kaiser Permanente Mariaelena Washington “M.E.” Thibodeaux

Conway Regional Medical Center- JoAnn Frazier

Excellence in Education

The award for Excellence in Education is given to nurse educators who (1) facilitate transfer of knowledge to staff in a complex and dynamic environment (2) continuously scan the organizational environment for gaps in understanding (3) close gaps by offering educational interventions and defining new processes to ensure the HD Nursing Programs are woven into the culture of the facility (4) ensure staff have the educational tools needed to succeed at every level (staff RN, PRN, float, across units, onboarding, annual competency, program changes) (5) create inventive ways to motivate/incentivize staff to reach their greatest educational potential as a contributor to the culture of safety.

2021 Excellence in Education Award Winners:

UTSW-Shannon Bowling

Kaiser Permanente San Diego/ Zion- Jeri Jackson

Kaiser Permanente Panorama City-Katia Studer

Builder Award

The Builder Award is given to an IT Project/Analyst Lead that (1) builds the HD Nursing Program in their organization’s E.H.R. using efficient workflows that meet the needs of clinical operations (2) Exhibits strong communication skills to collaboratively operationalize the HD Nursing Program in an E.H.R. (3) identifies innovative solutions to solve new or existing challenges (4) Offers support to colleagues across the HD Nursing Collaborative (5) demonstrates informatics best practices throughout implementation

2021 Builder Award Winners:

Parkland-JB Nguyen

Shannon Health- Becky Fuentes

Navicent- Diane Bloodworth

Kaiser Permanente-Valerie Slone

For more information, contact HD Nursing.


bottom of page