top of page

Meet the Leadership Team

Dr. Amy Hester

Dr. Amy Hester

Chairwoman and Chief Executive Officer

Amy has 25 years of nursing experience including over a decade of med/surge and neuro nursing followed by unit management and hospital administration. In 2015, she earned a Doctor of Philosophy in Nursing Science and has since published and spoken extensively on the subject of falls and injury prediction and prevention. She retired from UAMS in 2018 after 26 years of service to dedicate her time fully to HD Nursing. She is adjunct faculty at UAMS College of Nursing. As an entrepreneur, she mentors others to help them with their own endeavors. Amy also serves as the Chair of the HD Nursing Board of Directors.

Dr. Erin Bush

Dr. Erin Bush

Chief Operations Officer

Erin brings 24 years of professional experience in nursing, education, and leadership to HD Nursing where she helps prevent falls and deliver safe outcomes across the continuum of care. Her true passion is to support vulnerable patient populations. As a bedside nurse, she cared for high risk obstetric couplets earning a national certification in maternal-newborn nursing. She led a multi-state tele-health consortium as a clinical educator that bridged clinical gaps for underserved rural residents in the south. She’s also passionate about conducting research on better ways to bring families and long term care residents with dementia together using simulated presence. She earned a BSN and a Master of Interpersonal and Organizational Communication from the University of Arkansas at Little Rock. 

Dr. Patricia Quigley

PhD, MPH, APRN, CRRN, FAAN, FAANP – Clinical Advisory Committee

Dr. Quigley is a nurse consultant, retired Associate Director of the VISN 8 Patient Safety Center of Inquiry and is both a Clinical Nurse Specialist and a Nurse Practitioner in Rehabilitation. Her contributions to patient safety, nursing and rehabilitation are evident at a national level – with emphasis on clinical practice innovations designed to promote elders’ independence and safety. She is nationally known for her program of research in patient safety, particularly in fall prevention. The falls program research agenda continues to drive research efforts across health services and rehabilitation researchers.

​Dr. Patricia Quigley

Dr. Barbara Braden

PhD, RN – Clinical Advisory Committee

Dr. Braden is best known for developing the Braden Scale for Predicting Pressure Sore Risk which was tested and refined in partnership with Dr. Nancy Bergstrom.  She has received many awards for her work, including lifetime achievement awards from the National Pressure Ulcer Advisory Panel, the European Pressure Ulcer Advisory Panel and the World Union of Wound Healing Societies.

Dr. Nancy Bergstrom

PhD, RN, FAAN – Clinical Advisory Committee

Dr. Bergstrom co-developed the Braden Scale with Dr. Braden. She formerly chaired the US governmental Agency for Healthcare Policy and Research Panel, creating the first guidelines for Pressure Ulcer Prediction and Prevention (1992) and Treatment of Pressure Ulcers (1994). She was inducted into the first class of the Sigma Theta Tau, International, Nursing Research Hall of Fame. Dr. Bergstrom remains active and continues to collaborate with researchers and faculty to improve upon the science of pressure injury prevention.


Want More Information?

bottom of page